Dragon Ball Super: The Ultimate Guide to Power Levels and Transformations

Welcome to the ultimate guide to power levels and transformations in Dragon Ball Super! As a fan of this iconic anime series, you’re probably familiar with the intense battles and awe-inspiring transformations that take place. In this comprehensive article, we will delve deep into the fascinating world of power levels and explore the incredible transformations that characters undergo to unleash their true potential.

Understanding Power Levels in Dragon Ball Super

In the Dragon Ball universe, power levels serve as a metric to measure a character’s overall strength and fighting ability. These power levels are determined by the individual’s ki, or life energy, and can be augmented through training, experience, and the mastery of various techniques.

Power levels are often depicted through numerical values, providing a relative comparison between characters. It’s important to note that power levels can fluctuate during battles, as characters tap into hidden reserves of strength or utilize unique abilities.

Throughout Dragon Ball Super, power levels reach unprecedented heights as our favorite characters push their limits and explore new levels of power. Let’s take a closer look at some of the most significant transformations that occur within the series.

1. Super Saiyan

The Super Saiyan transformation is one of the most iconic and well-known power-ups in the Dragon Ball franchise. First achieved by Goku during the Frieza Saga, this form grants a massive power boost and turns the user’s hair golden. The aura surrounding the transformed Saiyan also becomes more intense and electrifying.

There are multiple levels within the Super Saiyan transformation, each representing a significant increase in power. These levels include:

a. Super Saiyan God

Introduced in the movie “Battle of Gods” and later expanded upon in the Dragon Ball Super series, Super Saiyan God takes the Super Saiyan transformation to a whole new level. This form harnesses the power of the gods and grants the user incredible strength, speed, and heightened senses. The Saiyan’s hair turns vibrant red, and they emit an ethereal, fiery aura.

b. Super Saiyan Blue

Also known as Super Saiyan God Super Saiyan, this transformation combines the power of Super Saiyan God with the Super Saiyan form. It results in a striking appearance with blue hair and a magnificent blue aura. Super Saiyan Blue represents the pinnacle of Saiyan power in the Dragon Ball Super series.

c. Ultra Instinct

Ultra Instinct is an extremely rare and difficult-to-master technique that allows the user to tap into their instinctual fighting abilities. When a character achieves Ultra Instinct, their hair turns silver or white, and their eyes become silver or gray. This form grants unparalleled speed and reflexes, making it incredibly challenging for opponents to land a hit.

2. Golden Frieza

Frieza, one of the most notorious villains in Dragon Ball, undergoes a unique transformation in Dragon Ball Super. After being resurrected by the Dragon Balls, Frieza trains extensively to unlock a new level of power. This results in his Golden Frieza form, which bestows immense strength and a striking golden appearance.

Golden Frieza represents a significant leap in power for the character, allowing him to rival even the Super Saiyans. However, due to the intense energy drain, Frieza can only maintain this form for a limited time before exhausting his power reserves.

3. Legendary Super Saiyan

The Legendary Super Saiyan transformation is an incredibly rare and incredibly powerful form. It is associated with the Saiyan race’s mythical figure, Broly. When Broly transforms into the Legendary Super Saiyan, his muscles bulk up significantly, and his hair turns green, resembling a wild mane.

This transformation grants Broly immense strength and durability, making him one of the most formidable opponents in the Dragon Ball Super series. However, controlling this power can be challenging, often resulting in uncontrolled rampages and loss of sanity.

4. Fusion

Fusion is a unique technique that allows two individuals to combine their bodies and powers, resulting in a single, more powerful being. In Dragon Ball Super, there are several fusion forms that play a crucial role in pivotal battles:

a. Fusion Dance

The Fusion Dance is a synchronized dance performed by two individuals to achieve fusion. When executed correctly, the dancers merge into a completely new being, combining their strengths and abilities. The most famous Fusion Dance fusion is the character Gogeta, created by Goku and Vegeta.

b. Potara Fusion

The Potara Fusion involves using the Potara earrings, which are worn by Supreme Kai and his attendants. When two individuals each wear one earring, they can fuse together to create a powerful new warrior. Vegito, the fusion of Goku and Vegeta, is the most notable example of Potara Fusion in Dragon Ball Super.

5. Other Transformations

Dragon Ball Super introduces a wide array of unique transformations that showcase the diversity of the series. Some of these include:

a. Super Saiyan Rosé

Super Saiyan Rosé is a form exclusive to the villainous Goku Black, an alternate version of Goku. Instead of the traditional golden hair, Super Saiyan Rosé gives Goku Black’s hair a pinkish hue. This transformation represents an evil counterpart to the Super Saiyan Blue form.

b. Super Saiyan 2 and 3

While these forms were introduced in Dragon Ball Z, they make appearances in Dragon Ball Super as well. Super Saiyan 2 and 3 are advanced versions of the original Super Saiyan form, providing substantial power increases.

c. Super Saiyan God Super Saiyan Evolution

This form is an evolved version of Super Saiyan Blue and is achieved by Vegeta. It features sharper, more pronounced hair and an intense blue aura. Super Saiyan God Super Saiyan Evolution represents Vegeta’s unique path to unlocking his maximum potential.


Dragon Ball Super takes power levels and transformations to unprecedented heights, captivating fans with its epic battles and awe-inspiring moments. From the iconic Super Saiyan forms to unique transformations like Golden Frieza and Ultra Instinct, the series continues to push the boundaries of power.

In this ultimate guide, we’ve only scratched the surface of the vast world of power levels and transformations in Dragon Ball Super. As you immerse yourself in this incredible series, remember that these power-ups are not just about raw strength but also represent the characters’ growth, determination, and unwavering spirit.

So, get ready to witness the explosive power of Super Saiyans, the indomitable strength of villains, and the evolution of your favorite characters as they reach new levels of power and unlock unimaginable transformations in the Dragon Ball Super universe!

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *